Gonzales Independent School District

Welcome to Apache Athletics


Apache Athletic Booster Club next meeting will be July 31 @ 5:30 in field house.  Please make plans to come!
Thank you Apache Athletes for a great year!
Congratulations to these athletes playing college sports!
Amanda Dixon-Frank Philips College
Carla Torres-Texas A&M-Kingsville
Alex James-Wharton County Community College
Gonzales Wade Miller, Kolby Kifer, Tristan Riley, Jake Barnick, Mason Richter 344 376 720
Congratulation to baseball for their honors!
2017 District 27-4A All-District Honors
2nd Team 
Diego Deleon
Alex Ortiz
Kolby Kifer
Coby Rodriguez
Honorable Mention
Tanner Blundell
Luis Ortega
Garrett Rickman

District 27-4A Softball 


All District Team

First Team Outfield -Jaycie Burton

First Team Infield- Karina Vara


Second Team Outfield -Haley Garza 

Second Team Catcher-Skylea Tatsch

Second Team Pitcher-Carla Torres

Second Team Infield -Morgan Mason, Kendra Williams, Sheridan Tate


Honorable Mention-Chella Longoria 


District Academic 


Carla Torres

Haley Garza

Morgan Mason

Sheridan Tate

Skylea Tatsch

Kendra Williams

Jaycie Burton

Desiree Rodriguez 

Taegan Thwing

 Congratulations to Track Regional qualifiers

Johnna Dalton---------Triple Jump and Gonzales is first alternate for mile relay

Tyla Dalton--------------Long Jump and Gonzales is first alternate for mile relay

Shania Lloyd-----------100 Meter dash

Devon Williams--------Shot put and Discus

Haley Garza------------800 and 1600 and Gonzales is first alternate for mile relay

Krystalynn Buesing----Gonzales is first alternate for mile relay

Veronica Moreno-------First Alternate for the 1600

Maggie Barnick---------First Alternate for the High Jump

Alex Ortiz--------------100 meter dash


Track District results
Maggie Barnick--High Jump
Madison Blundell--300 Hurdles and 4x100 relay and 4x400 relay
Krystalynn Buesing--4x400 relay
Romy Cantu---3200 meter run
Johnna Dalton--Triple Jump, 4x200 relay and 4x400 relay
Tyla Dalton----Long Jump District Champion, Triple Jump, 4x100 relay, 4x400 relay and 400 meter dash
Aukievah Fryer--Alternate for Shot Put
Haley Garza--800 and 1600 District Champion and 4x400 relay
Jacey Henrichs--4x200 relay
Shania Lloyd--4x100 relay and 100 meter dash
Maraia Mathis--4x400 relay
Veronica Moreno--1600 meter run and 4x400 relay
Alexis Ramirez--4x100 relay and 4x200 relay
Alicia Ramriez--Alternate for Discus
Hailey Riojas---Discus
Skylar Siptak--4x100 relay and 4x400 relay
Tyla Smith---4x100 relay
Rachel Staggs--4x200 relay and Alternate for 300 Hurdles
Josie Stowers--Alternate for High Jump and 100 Hurdles
Devon Williams--Shot put and Discus District Champion
Discus _ Kenneth Cvit
100 - Alex Ortiz
4x100 - Josh Branch, Trevion McNeil, Alex Ortiz, Aaron Hunt 
4 x 200 - Seth Gibbson, Marvin Cardoza, James Martinez, Trevion McNeil
4 x 400 - Jared Esparza, Kesiey Ramirez, Seth Gibbson, Marvin Cardoza. 
Congratulations to Powerlifting Regional Qualifiers
Khelsea Cray, Cristal Garcia and Sydney Clack
Alex Ortiz and Juan Licea


  Congratulations to Amanda Dixson for signing to play basketball with Franks Philips College in Borger, TX.
Congrats Apache Basketball
All Academic:  Micah Meddlin,  Luis Segura
All district Team
Matthew Velasquez-Banda newcomer of the year
First Team All District -Trevion McNeil
Second Team All District- Aaron Hunt, Luis Segura
Gonzales Lady Apache Basketball All District Honors
Newcomer of the Year! Devon Williams
1st Team
Amanda Dixson
Sheridan Tate
2nd Team
Haley Garza
Hailey Riojas
Honorable Mention
Morgan Mason
Skylea Tatsch
Jasmin Steemer
Congrats to Apache Football:
2016 Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 4A All State Football Team
Wade Miller-1st team Defense Lineman
Colby Cox-Honorable Mention Defensive Backs

2016 Victoria Advocate All-Area Football Team

Line: Wade Miller, 6-1, 230, sr., Gonzales.

Honorable Mention:  Gonzales: Colby Cox, Trent Wilkerson, Josh Calvin, Juan Licea, Brandon Carrizales, Juan Velasquez Banda, Dawson Hull 

Congrats to lineman Wade Miller, Sr. (122 tackles, 15 TFL, 10 sacks) for being honored with the 2016 Texas Associated Press Sports Editors Class 4A -1st team Defense.


New Comer of the Year – Rachel Staggs – Freshmen

1st Team All District

Alexandra James – Sr.

Morgan Mason – Sr.

2nd Team All District

Cameron Kluting – Jr.

Kayley Martinez – Jr.

Honorable Mention All District

Analise Longoria – Sr.

Sheridan Tate – Sr.

Maura Garcia – So.

Academic All District


Alexandra James

Morgan Mason

Sheridan Tate


Cameron Kluting


Maura Garcia

Chelsie Hastings

Kayley Martinez


Kiley Allen

Rachel Staggs


District 10-4A Football Honors

Lineman MVP-Wade Miller

Newcomer of the Year-Trent Wilkerson

1st team Offense

Joshua Calvin-Running Back

Juan Licea-Guard

Brandon Carrizales-Tackle

2nd Offense

Aaron Hunt-Wide Receiver

Hayden Henke-Center

Bradley Bakken-Tackle

1st Team Defense

Jason Velasquez-Banda-Inside Linebacker

Dawson Hull-Outside Linebacker

Colby Cox-Safety

2nd Team Defense

Joseph Gonzalez-Tackle

Matthew Grauke-End

Aaron Hunt-Corner

Alex Ortiz-Safety

Honorable Mention

Garrett Rickman-QB

Wade Miller-FB

Louis Segura-REC

Trevion McNeil-REC

Josh Bustos-OG

Juan Licea-DT

Jaren Blundell-LB

Corey Anzaldua-OLB

Rogelio Sanchez-K

Academic  All District

Alex Ortiz

Matthew Grauke

Jaren Blundell

Lane Vaught

Micah Medellin

Wade Miller

Hayden Henke

Joseph Gonzalez

Joshua Landi

Brandon White

Academic All State

Joseph Gonzalez-Honorable Mention

Hayden Henke-1st Team

Micah Medellin-1st Team

Wade Miller-Honorable Mention



All district

Krystalynn Buesing

Romy Cantu

Maura Garcia

Haley Garza

Veronica Moreno

Antonio Hernandez

All Academic 

Krystalynn Buesing

Maura Garcia

Michaela Garcia

Veronica Moreno 

Hannah Rowland


Lady Apache Soccer

Freshmen of the year:  Aimee Deluna

1st team:  Seidy Villegas and Fernanda Velazquez

2nd Team:  Jordan Maldonado, Alaisia Chavez, Kendra Cavit

Honorable Mention:  Katie Bonilla, Cristal Garcia, and Geomyra Gomez

Academic All District:  Aimee Deluna, Katie Bonilla, Kenda Cavit, Fernanda Velazquez, Bri Gomez, Anabela Rodriguez, Cristal Garcia, and Sandra Palacios


Apache Soccer

Santiago Escoto was named District 26-4A MVP for the second year in a row. Named offensive player of the year was Rogelio Sanchez, who was an all-district first-team player last season. José Flores was named midfielder of the year for the second year in a row. Daniel Cruz was honored with the freshman of the year awarded. Fabian Cardoza, Suriel Rangel, Anthony Veliz and Daniel Barrientos. Named to the second team were Jesus Guzman, Martin Romero, Sebastian Rodriguez, Mario Pizano and Antonio Hernandez.




Weekly Events:(BOLD AT HOME)

Free athletic physicals
Date: 5/9/2017, 4 PM 6 PM
Location: GHS new gym
GISD Athletic Banquet
Date: 5/8/2017, 6 PM 8 PM
Location: JB Wells Expo Center, doors open at 5:30pm.
Your weather just got better.