Gonzales ISD Chief of Administration Receives Bravo Award



Veronica Johannsen, chief of administration, communications, and safety for Gonzales Independent School District, has been honored with the 2024 Bravo Award by the Texas Council of Women School Executives (TCWSE).

The award recognizes exemplary practitioners, innovative programs and initiatives that promote community and parental involvement in education.

Veronica was one of 10 recipients from across the state nominated to receive the award and selected by a committee of council members.

One of Johannsen’s notable achievements is the passage of the board-approved communications internship program, which provides high school students with an interest in communications, hands-on learning opportunities, and mentorship. Johannsen collaborated with Wendy Cox, Jennifer Ervin, and Brandy Low to start the program. TASB recently informed the GISD communications team that the interns were selected to present at the Texas Association of School Boards Governance conference for their communications internship work.

This year, the communications team organized several successful community events that promote community involvement, such as:

  • The GISD Winter Wonderland 

  • The GISD Bonfire

  • Battle of the Badges

  • Paletas at the Park

  • Splashing into PreK with the Principal

Johannsen said she was humbled and grateful to receive the Bravo Award.

“I am honored to be recognized by such a prestigious organization as TCWSE. This award recognizes the efforts of the entire Gonzales ISD team. I am proud to work with such dedicated and passionate educators who strive to make a positive difference in the lives of our students and families every day,” she said.

Johannsen added that she was surprised and thankful to have been recognized by women she deeply admires. TCWSE is a community of women superintendents, executives, and educators who are passionate, take action, and make things happen. 

The Bravo Awards are presented annually, bringing hundreds of women educators across Texas to learn, collaborate, and celebrate their achievements.